Skip to main content

Equality Act 2010

Committee stage

Session 2009-10

Looking for a marshalled list of amendments? Please go to publications.

Committee: 1st sitting
11 January 2010

Committee: 2nd sitting
13 January 2010

Committee: 3rd sitting
19 January 2010

Committee: 4th sitting
25 January 2010

Committee: 5th sitting
27 January 2010

Committee: 6th sitting
9 February 2010

What is committee stage?

Committee stage involves detailed line by line examination of the separate parts (clauses and schedules) of a Bill. Starting from the front of the Bill, members work through to the end. Any member of the Lords can take part.

Usually starting about two weeks after the second reading debate, committee stage generally lasts for up to eight days, but can go on for longer.

Before committee stage takes place

Before committee stage begins, amendments (changes) are gathered together and placed in order, then published in the 'marshalled list'. Updated lists are produced before the start of each day of committee stage.

What happens at committee stage?

During committee stage every clause of the Bill has to be agreed to and votes on any amendments can take place. All suggested amendments have to be considered, if a member wishes, and members can discuss an issue for as long as they want. The government cannot restrict the subjects under discussion or impose a time limit. This is a key point of difference with procedure in the House of Commons.

What happens after committee stage?

If the Bill has been amended it is reprinted with all the agreed amendments. At the end of committee stage, the Bill moves to report stage for further scrutiny.